Paint Chipalooza

I’m back today with a quick and easy project that will allow you to make custom wall art in any color combination you choose!  I’m talking about paint chip wall art and if you’re a regular “Pinterester” you know what I’m talking about.  Paint chip art is all over Pinterest and why not?  It’s easy and best of all it’s cheap, if not free!

So I headed down to my local HD and made Nolan “cover me” 🙂 while I chose a number of paint chips from the Martha Stewart line.  I like her paint chips because each chip only displays one color, as opposed to the other brands that sometimes show multiple colors on one chip.

Once I had my color scheme decided upon, I got to work.  I happened to have an IKEA Ribba Frameon hand that was leftover from a previous project.  The mat opening on the frame was 4-3/4″ x 6-3/4″.  So I used the backside of the paper insert that comes in the frame as my project surface.  I traced the mat opening onto the backside of the paper insert as a guide for when it came time to adhere the strips to the paper.

IKEA Ribba Frame

I had twelve colors I wanted to incorporate into this project.  I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no math whiz, so I determined that if I cut the colors into 1/2″ strips, I’d be close to the rough opening with 3/4″ to spare.  So, I took caution to the wind and decided to go for it without really knowing where I’d end up…

Using my handy dandy “Making Memories” paper trimmer that I purchased a few years back with a 50% off coupon at Michaels, I went to work.  I love this paper cutter because it has clear grid lines that help make sure you’re cutting straight and square.  I cut 1/2″ strips of all twelve colors.

Using regular old Elmer’s glue and a paint brush, I painted the back of each strip, one at a time with glue and then adhered them to the paper.  I made sure to get each strip as close to the next without overlapping so that there would be little to no white paper showing through.

Painting the glue to the backside of the paint strips

In order to make up for the 3/4″ extra space I had left in the mat opening, I ended up repeating a couple of colors.

The end result was this…

Paint chips glued to paper

Once dry and ready to go, I simply put the project and the frame together and it was ready for display.  Here it is in our guest room on the night stand.

Finished product!

In case you’re curious, I used the following colors from the Martha Stewart line of paint at Home Depot:

Hosta
Sunken Pool
Sea Glass
Geyser
Macadamia
Tahini
Custard
Yellow Gerbera
Winters Day
Driftwood Gray
Dolphin
Cumulus Cloud

Total Cost: $2.99 for the IKEA Ribba frame (btw..they recently lowered the price to $1.99 for the same frame!)

All in all, this was a very fun and rewarding project because it only took me about an hour and it was instant gratification!

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

